Mr. Money Mustache Sounds Off

Making Space for Badassity

It’s a good read.  It won’t work for most people.

For me, playing this game is already working.  It starts small and it’s achievable.  It’s fun to play.  If I keep playing and keep leveling up, I’ll have enough money for it to make money which will give us a ton of options.

Today I was out running errands and found myself driving by Ulta.  The siren call started pulling me in.  After all I’m 3/4 of the way through a bottle of conditioner (snark).  I started to park in front of the store and instantly thought of our Money Game.  I also knew our budget category for personal care products did not have enough to cover the latest Jennifer Anniston hair product that I was coveting.

What do I really want – an overpriced hair product or financial freedom?  The choice was easy and it was honestly fun.  I think this is going to spiral as we see more and more choices we can make that will get us out of the rat race.  (And yes we are working to get our oversized empty nest on the market as soon as possible.)  I want to see how quickly it can happen and I think we’ll be pleasantly surprised.

I emptied the hair care category and deposited another $15.34 in our Money Game fund. It totals $23.49 and we’re now working on Level 32.  Take that Jennifer.

Leave a Reply

