Adding a strategy for a new month

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

Last month taught me that I’m sloppy with the food budget making it up every time we get a small windfall or come under budget in another category. I went through the past 12 months in YNAB and the numbers back that up.

So lesson learned. There’s some serious money to be “made” by taking the time to plan meals and shop wisely. But that’s not enough to get through the next 158 levels in this lifetime.

I know I’ll need to buy and sell to get there but I also know I don’t have much experience – let alone an acumen – for that. So I’m going to start by focusing on the “sell” side of the equation by looking for things around the house that I can sell. Right now I’m not even concerned with making a ton of money. I want to learn what venues exist for selling and how it’s done. I always thought I was too idealistic to have a yard sale preferring to just donate stuff to Salvation Army. I’ve come to realize though that I’m actually pretty lazy. Selling is hard work and it’s a hassle. It’s time to roll up my sleeves and get to work.

I’m starting the month with $509.86. I want to make at least 5% in sales ($25.50) and throw in the other types of savings I discovered last month.

I’m also realizing how important it is to actually go through the levels. Level by level, you learn how to grow money and how to keep it. I started by needing to hustle up a quarter and now it’s getting close to $25 each time. Each change teaches you a little more.

I think the most important lesson so far is that you need to protect and keep as much of your money as you can. This game is giving me the tools to do that.

Level Completed: 94 Total Balance: $509.86

Have fun and level up!

Leave a Reply

