4 Week Review

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

After this review, I’m going to do a monthly wrap up on the last day of each month so look for another one in two weeks. It will have more information because the first actual month (with growth based on last month’s growth) will be available.

But holy cow – I wasn’t expecting these kinds of results. I graphed the actual deposits and their dates. I didn’t expect to see much. After all, all I did was make a bunch of small (one was $1.18) deposits beginning on July 13.

I honestly thought coming up with $250 in the first 30 days would be a stretch. I had no idea we could accomplish this much in 30 days. This kind of money has been there the whole time but we couldn’t see it. Playing a game gave us the perspective to recognize it and the motivation to act on it.

During the first 18 days (July 13-31), our $5 grew over 10,000% to just over $500. The next 13 days it has grown 67%. We have started selling a product so I’m cautiously optimistic we can grow this money even more. The more we have, the more we can buy to sell at a profit. I’ll start a weekly post on Mondays to go over sales for the past week and to give you ideas on things you can do to grow your own money.

The thing that interests me the most is comparing the two graphs in the link above. If I had grown that first $5 5% each day, 31 days later we would have had $20 and some change. I think it’s interesting that the graph of what actually happened has roughly the same shape. The numbers are through the roof though. Even though the deposits didn’t get progressivly bigger with each and every step, they took us where we wanted to go faster than we could have imagined.

This will work for you too even if you are in a stage of life where it’s harder to come up with any extra. Aiming to grow your fund a certain percent each time will make it grow faster than if you deposited the same amount of money once a month or even once a week. The difference is focusing on percentage instead of a regular set amount. It may go a bit slower but trust in leveling up. You’ll get there!

George and I have also noticed that the daily chores of keeping a home and yard don’t seem as tedious now. We’re seeing our house as our biggest investment and something we’ll be able to sell and hopefully profit from. That’s motivating us to do a better job maintaining the property. The fun of the game is extending to things like mowing the lawn and watering the grass because we know how much the score will bump up when we downsize. It also extended to shopping where we are doing so much better. We’re eating well but we are being intentional about the food we buy and we’re careful to use the leftovers for lunches the next day. I can’t tell you how happy this makes me.

No extra money surfaced today but every completed chore made our house nicer and felt like a power up! When I catch myself staring at the budget and the spreadsheets wanting to make the numbers move, I know it’s time to step away and work on the house.

Going forward, I imagine the overall % growth each month may slow down. I don’t know yet how much we’ll need before we can start flipping land. I’m not worried about it because first of all – this is still truly a game. We haven’t stopped adulting by stopping our “real” investments. Second, we didn’t know where this would take us 30 days ago. We thought all the low hanging fruit was gone the first week. We were shocked at the results.

Finally – this is a game where the score is real money. If we wanted to or needed to, we could declare game over, take all this money and go home! I think that’s very cool.

I’d love it if you played along. You don’t have to share anything you’re not comfortable with and of course, you’re free to make up your own rules. But it would be fun if we could share tips and strategies in the comments and cheer each other on. I can’t believe how much I learned and grew these last weeks and it would be a blast to do it with others.

Level Completed: 105 out of 251
Total Balance: $853.61

Our Money Game fund has increased 67.4% so far this month.

Have fun, grow money and level up!

Leave a Reply

