One month – 3 strategies

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

I was sharing with a close friend about what I’m doing. Something about having to put my thoughts together to verbalize a project helps me focus. I found myself telling her that at first I thought I was cheating by not making the first $5 earn its 5% and so on.

I went on to tell her that I was so glad I didn’t do that. Instead I started paying attention to our budget in YNAB and was amazed to find how much money was there that we were just wasting. I didn’t tighten the budget. I just stopped wasting money on food and being sloppy. That meant every windfall got put to better use than making up what we overspent on food. These are savings that will continue to give back to us each month. I don’t want that to stop.

I also got to tell her that it’s pushing me to get moving on posting things for sale on FaceBook. By then her husband had joined us and they were both nodding agreeing that something likes this helps motivate you. In the end, you’ll have something to show for your hard work.

So … coming up to the mid-point of the month, I’ll be able to keep reaping profits by staying on budget, continue to sell the RTIC tumblers (which are selling well – I’ll report on that tomorrow) and start to sell the clutter we were going to get rid of anyway. I’m stoked! This thing is working!!

It helps so much to share with others. You see the nods and the enthusiasm. We joked about some of this with another couple Saturday morning after working on a service project in the inner city through out church. Again it’s the sense of the game that lights up their eyes and makes them want to play. You start sharing ideas along with what’s working (and probably on down the line – with what doesn’t work as well).

Feel free to share here or share with your friends face to face. Have fun with this and watch your money grow.

Level Completed: 108 out of 251
Total Balance: $1,012.61

Our Money Game fund has increased 98.6% so far this month.

Have fun, grow money and level up!

Leave a Reply

