Levels 106, 107 & 108: Christmas Shopping

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

The weekly paycheck hit the credit union. I’m transferring $14 from our savings category each week to the Money Game.

Next I took the Christmas money that has accumulated so far and shamelessly double dipped. How did that happen? Remember those RTICs we ordered by the case? Some of our gift recipients are going to get an RTIC. The first savings happened by getting them a nicer gift than I would have. The second savings came by “purchasing” these gifts from my own store. Can I help it if Christmas has become a profit center? Honestly, I highly recommend it. Any time you can give nicer gifts while getting rich, I think you should run right in!

Here’s an example fleshed out for you:
My niece and nephew have always been on our gift list. We budget $50 for each of them. I struggle finding things they like now that they are grown ups and I know they will love the RTIC tumblers. I “bought” them each one from my store for $15 each. That money went back into the store to help repay the $321 I spent on buying the case of tumblers. The extra $35 each saved went from our Christmas gift category to our Money Game fund category.

This isn’t creative accounting. This is real money that was allocated for Christmas in YNAB, real money was spent, and real savings were transferred to the Money Game savings account.

I did this for 9 people on our gift list and the total savings deposit is $159. There remains (-$156) in our Money Game Store budget category. An important milestone was reached as the Money Game fund crossed the $1,000 mark.

Level Completed: 108 out of 251
Total Balance: $1,012.61

Our Money Game fund has increased 98.6% so far this month.

Have fun, grow money and level up!

Leave a Reply

