An unexpected benefit from playing the Money Game

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

Last weekend we are celebrated my son’s birthday. In the past, any special event, holiday or vacation seemed to come with an unwritten rule that the budget was out the door for the day. I’m not sure why. Maybe it was because we were sloppy. I wrote earlier that gifts and groceries were our two big budget busters.

During those times, I’d run around with a sick feeling in the pit of my stomach. I felt out-of-control and it wasn’t fun. I didn’t want to ruin the event for everyone else so I’d just suck it up.

We ran around last Saturday but it was totally different. I already had his gift and it was bought under budget. His wife included me in the party planning and she asked if I’d like to do his cake. All that is ready and again it’s under control.

I think I compensated my lack of planning in the past with excessive spending to cover my guilt. The Money Game showed me the planning can be fun because good planning resulted in being under budget. Under budget means there is money to move over to the Money Game fund. It gave me more incentive to do the things I don’t enjoy.

Level Completed: 110 out of 251
Total Balance: $1,106.30

Our Money Game fund has increased 116.98% so far this month.

Have fun, grow money and level up!

Leave a Reply

