One of your biggest expenses may be a surprise to you

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

Most people think it’s your home followed by your car. I’ll argue that many people pay more for food than they do for their cars. Depending on your situation, you may even spend more on food than you do for housing!

When I suspected this, I downloaded every transaction for the entire month from our checking account. This was before we started using YNAB. I felt like our spending was spinning out of control and I needed to see what was going on. I imported the data in a spreadsheet and totaled everything we spent on groceries and eating out for the month. It was over a thousand dollars!

I showed my husband and he said that month was an anomaly. “OK,” I challenged. “You pick a month.” I did it again with the month of his choice. This time the total was $1,394. I’ll never forget that number.

This is actually a great problem because it’s easily fixed. The fixes will honestly make your life easier and you’ll have less work to do in the kitchen. The real prize is the treasure (cold hard cash) that you can free up to put into your Money Game fund or anywhere else you like.

Tomorrow I’ll share what’s helped me slash our food costs.

Level Completed: 112 out of 251
Total Balance: $1,201.64

Our Money Game fund has increased 135.7% so far this month.

Have fun, grow money and level up!

Leave a Reply

