Don’t get hung up on selling versus saving

I’m getting messaged privately and the discussions make me realize what I’m learning. This particular message came to me over a week ago. (There have been others and I’ll post more on those soon.) The writer felt perhaps the game wasn’t valid because the original $5 didn’t earn the rest of the money.

I do think the real value of this game is learning to make money. That was what pushed me to start this. If I could just make twenty five cents, then I could push myself to make more. I have made money this month by selling and it was a great experience. It was fun and easier than I imagined. I’m so glad I did that.

But I’m still stunned at how much we’re able to save by being careful with our food budget. I just couldn’t get control of the budget before and it’s not only done a 180, it’s served up so much more money than I would have thought. It doesn’t matter how much you make if you can’t control it. There will never be enough (think of lottery winners who often end up broke.) I needed this lesson.

We are all different. We’re wired in different ways and we have different needs. If you are reading this and if you’re inspired, let me encourage you to just start playing the game with $5 in whatever way feels right to you. Don’t lose sight of the “game”. (Have you ever played Monopoly with someone who took it so seriously they ruined the evening for everyone?”) I think that’s the most important this experience has taught me.

Be a kid again. Capture that sense of play and even that sense of wonder as it starts to work. Take that fun and carry it back to your day to day work wherever and whatever that is.

I started to get hung up wondering if I should stop adding savings and “make” myself only add earned money. For a second, it wasn’t fun any more. I did sell when the opportunity presented itself and I want to do that again very badly. That was a blast!! But this isn’t about having a sales quota.

So I’m grabbing each day as it comes and taking advantage of any extra money that presents itself. I still can’t believe how often I see it. This is a blast!

Level Completed: 116 out of 251
Amount Deposited This Month: $950.30
Total Balance: $1,460.16

Our Money Game fund has increased 186.4% so far this month.

Have fun, grow money and level up!

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

One thought on “Don’t get hung up on selling versus saving

Leave a Reply

