Power up: Homemade Laundry Detergent

A few years ago, I noticed our towels smelled funky.  They weren’t mildewed but they smelled terrible.  I did a search and learned that I wasn’t the only one who had that problem.  Other Tide/Downy users were talking about it too.

I also read great things about homemade laundry detergent using this recipe from DYI Natural.  I made it and tried it using 1 cup of vinegar in the rinse water. From the first wash, the towels smelled sweet again. They were soft but also more absorbent.  From that time on, that’s what I’ve used.  It also costs a fraction of the price of Tide and Downy.

Another thing I love about making my own is that if I get low on something I need to make it, I don’t have to spend at least $15.  I only spend a few dollars to get the missing ingredient.  My grocery budget never gets that huge hit that happened when I ran out of Tide just as the olive oil was used up or we needed to buy a lot of meat. It helps keep things evened up.

Take the difference and power up! I’m calling it at twelve bucks.

I also raked pine straw from the grass under our pine trees and spread it over the mulch bed under our dogwood tree. I asked George how many bales it would have taken and he said 2. Two at $4 each makes $8 right? I’m so glad I paid attention in math class.

Total deposit: $20

Level Completed: 121 out of 251
Amount Deposited This Month: $166.31
Total Balance: $1,890.94

Our Money Game fund has increased 9.6% so far this month.

Have fun, grow money and level up!

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

4 thoughts on “Power up: Homemade Laundry Detergent

  1. If you do, please don’t forget plain white vinegar in the rinse water. It busts up any soap residue left from the wash. I use 1 full cup for a large load and half a cup for a small load. It makes a difference!

    Like

  2. Hi Mary
    So you charge yourself what you would have paid in detergent from the store? For example…I have $90.00 in free money at Sams. I was going to buy meat to stock the freezer but in reality even though I’m getting the groceries “free” I should take it out of that catagory and put into the money game.

    Judy

    Like

  3. That’s what I do Judy. If it’s a lean week (some weeks I just seem to run out of everything) then there’s nothing there to grab. But if making my own detergent makes me come in under budget, then I take what I would have spent and actually transfer it to savings (or whatever other category we like!) They are real dollars that need a new job.

    I like how you see it for Sam’s and how that freed up money from your grocery budget. I do it with the power bill, gift cards we receive and even Starbucks. I used to go to Starbucks every time I drove to Atlanta just to stay awake. Now I bring my own coffee and I take $5 from my spending money and put it where I want when I get home. I knew I spent more than that every time I pulled in but what good does it do to deny yourself if you don’t actually capture those savings?

    Like

Leave a Reply

