“You become what you think about most of the time”

The Money Game isn’t a savings program disguised as a game.

It’s a way to get you thinking “what can I do with the money I have to make 5% more”. The difference is important because you’re going to reach a point where you won’t be able to level up in this lifetime by just coming in under budget.

I am blown away by how fast I’m leveling up. I never saw it coming. I had no idea we were wasting so much money.

But I think someone who grows their first $5 by selling something it is going to be at an advantage. It’s become easy for me to walk around the house thinking of all the ways I can be more careful with what we have. It’s an important skill. But it isn’t a skill that will get your money making some serious money. If I bought some drinks at a great price with my first $5 and sold them to coworkers making at least another twenty five cents, I’d have an extra skill.  Does that make sense?

I want to play at a higher level and one way I know to do it is to revisit “Goals” by Brian Tracy. This link takes you to his book which is available free of charge online.  You don’t even have to register to read it!

If you are playing along, consider reading Chapter 1 “Unlock Your Potential”.  Here are a few gems I’m quoting from this chapter:

  • “It doesn’t matter where you’re coming from; all that matters is where you’re going. And where you’re going is solely determined by yourself and your own thoughts.”
  • “You become what you think about most of the time.”

Don’t miss the story of the homing pigeon.  I know my mind works that way.  I get focused on a goal and I find a way.  It worked that way when I decided to go to college as a single mom of four young children. I kept my goal front and center and it was amazing to watch things fall into place.  

The Money Game gives you a clear goal at each level that is measurable and attainable. You have what you need at each level to go after 5% more.  If you find the money laying around, that’s cool. Grab it.  Add it back in and start again.  The game will change as you keep leveling up.  I think it’s because of the nature of how goals work in our minds.

I’m working on Level 125 right now and I know I need $106.03 to complete this level. My thoughts are optimistic.  I’m playing a game.  I know there are opportunities around me (including our Money Game balance of more than $2,120) to come up with that much.  I’m looking around with a gleam in my eye to see where it is.  

Level Completed: 124 out of 251
Amount Deposited This Month: $395.89
Total Balance: $2,120.52

Our Money Game fund has increased 23% so far this month.

Have fun, grow money and level up

2 thoughts on ““You become what you think about most of the time”

  1. Oh and I’m having a hard time making myself do that! If I don’t a year from now, this blog will only be “Mary’s savings log”. There’s no shame in that but that isn’t the plan right?

    I’m often writing and scheduling these posts in the wee hours of the morning. I just reread this one and I was kind of shocked that I didn’t say how much I prayed during those single mom years. That goal was singular then but I could write a book about the miracles that happened during that time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

