Level 126: What have I accomplished?

monthlygrowthLast month I was able to deposit an extra $1200+ into our savings account that we would have otherwise frittered away. It looks like I’m exactly on track to do it again this month.  I actually wrote this on September 15th and this was our deposits to date on that day.

I didn’t put the screws on everyone.  I turned this into a game and kept my on the ball.  We didn’t cut back from the budget that was in place the month before I started this. Everything was kept the same except I stopped going over budget.

If nothing else changed from this day forward, it looks like I’d have $1,215 every month that could sit in savings.  After a year, that would be $14,580!  That’s a lot of money!!

The thing that surprises me the most is that I thought I’d be able to come up with $250 a month tops from our budget but it was 5 times more than that.

What can this do for you?

I promise I started at Level 1 with $5 just having fun while I looked for a quarter.  I believe that the process of thinking about leveling up every day in a playful setting helped me see the money that was around us.  Because it started so small, it was easy to find a quarter and throw it in a change jar.  It was fun to level up, so I kept doing it. Because it grew so fast, it continues to be worth my time!  It’s worth your time too.

I think tracking it also helps. The other day I made a deposit of $1.60.  It raised the monthly percent growth by two tenths of a percent.  Do you realize our credit union is paying .25% a year?  That was point two five percent A YEAR!  Now I understand how quickly all of these small deposits are rolling up into something big and worth having.  I also realize why companies like CocaCola work so hard to get us to spend $1 on a drink.  It adds for them too.

I want to keep growing the amount I can save each month. I think there’s a part of me that has held back with sales thinking it’s not enough money to make a difference.  A part ofme that thinks I have to wait until I can buy  something big to sell like real estate. Seeing all of these small deposits add up shows me that adding up a bunch of small sales could be worth it too.

Speaking of small gains, we came under on food again. $17.75 was deposited.

Level Completed: 126 out of 251
Amount Deposited This Month: $624.88
Total Balance: $2,349.51

I need $105.26 to get to the next level.

Our Money Game fund has increased 36.2% so far this month.

Have fun, grow money and level up!

One thought on “Level 126: What have I accomplished?

  1. Ultimately it’s the little things that add up to being able to do the big things it starts getting interesting when you have to find the bigger things and sales are possibly the only way of going that? Anyway good going..

    Like

Leave a Reply

