An overlooked reason to come in under budget

Any time you save money that you’ve already earned, those savings are tax-free.

If I consistently save $25 a week on groceries, that is an extra $25 to use that is tax-free. If I earn an extra $25 on the job, that money will be taxed. I have to earn a lot more than $25 to get that same benefit.

I knew that but I haven’t thought about it in a long time. The first time I read that was in a book called The Wealthy Barber by David Chilton. He said some people who won’t take the time to shop around to get a good discount on a major purchase will gladly give up a weekend to work over-time to make the same amount – but it’s heavily taxed!

It underscored what I’m coming to realize is the first strategy of the Money Game. Make it fun to come in under budget. Outsmart yourself and the stores. Keep more of the money you earn.

If you start by selling something, but you don’t know how to keep the money you earn, it may not help you much in the long run.

Level Completed: 128 out of 251
Amount Deposited This Month: $965.39
Total Balance: $2,690.02

I need $16.37 to get to the next level.

Our Money Game fund has increased 55.98% so far this month.

Have fun, grow money and level

One thought on “An overlooked reason to come in under budget

  1. You can definitely go a long way if you shop around. I try to buy everything I can on sale as much as possible. Congratulations on making it to this level and best of luck on reaching the next level. =)

    P.S. I love how you’re gaming your fund. I love playing video games myself so I think it’s fun that you’re making a game out of it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

