Day by Day

I started doing laundry this morning.  Laundry is the worst.  Something about sorting dirty clothes gets my ADD mind bouncing in unproductive ways.

“What if you can’t level up with $5,000?”

Whaaaaaat?

My experience with this so far has shown me that each level teaches you something. I thought I knew what was going to happen.  I was so sure of it, I almost moved a big chunk of money over from savings so I could get on it with it.

The first 50 levels taught me that I wasn’t careful with money or respectful of our budget.  When I corrected, the returns were a lot higher than I expected.

I stayed on course with that during the second 50 levels.  I also got some insight into sales.  I’ve never been a natural salesperson and I figured when the time came, I’d hire a broker and she would do the buying and selling for me.  I’m glad I played this game through these second 50 levels. The lesson I learned was so helpful.  Do the work to structure a deal so that it helps someone get a great product at a better price. If it helps them, they’ll want to buy it.

That could translate to other areas of life. Looking back, I could have coached my kids along as teens framing better school work in terms of what it would give them instead of focusing on grounding them when they didn’t measure up.

Now 100 levels are done and I’m well into the next 50. The biggest lesson I’ve learned so far is to concentrate on this day and this level. It’s okay to start educating yourself about what may come up later (I’m reading a lot about real estate these days) but it’s not okay to fret about it wondering how you’ll do it.

Today is here.  My current level needs about $143. What can I do with what I have to make $143?  Better yet, what can my $2,990 do to bring me $143? While I look around with optimism, are there any coins (remember Mario?) to grab? I may have to jump a little to get them but they add up.

The thing I love the most is the element of surprise. There are a few things coming up that are expected.  The monthly expense check is a first part of the month boost and it’s great to be able to deposit it now instead of allocate it to the food budget. At this level, it’s going to take more than what I can save out of our regular budget to level up. I’m honestly excited and waiting to discover how the next 20 levels are going to unfold.

Level Completed: 131 out of 251
Amount Deposited this month: $1,265.39
Total Balance: $2,990.02

Our Money Game fund has increased 73.4% so far this month.

$142.96 is needed to reach the next level.

Have fun, grow money and level up!

One thought on “Day by Day

Leave a Reply

