If I was raising kids today

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

I’d get them going on their own Money Game as soon as they start talking about percent growth. My six year old grandson just mentioned “percent” in a statement he made saying something had grown “100%”. I don’t think he really gets it yet. I’m thinking a 4th grader might be ready.

At that point, I’d show them a graph of how $5 grows 5% at a time to a million dollars. I’d tell them they may have $5 to start if they’ll commit to growing it 5% each month (with some help from moi of course). 12 months later their minimum contribution would still be very small but it’s the education I’m after.

As soon as they started talking about driving, they would have to watch Drive Free Cars from Dave Ramsey’s group.  They wouldn’t get a learner’s permit until they could explain that video to me.

I’d want each of them to get started building their own tiny home as a high school project.

Imagine kids graduating from high school/college with a halfway decent car and a home paid in full.  Imagine the freedom they would have to choose meaningful work if that was coupled with their own Money Game fund that thew grew themselves.  They would know how to make money without having to depend on a job.  I think many would still want to pursue a career as an employee and such a preparation would only increase their confidence and their stability.

Level Completed: 135 out of 251
Amount Deposited this month: $601.47
Total Balance: $3,748.97

Our Money Game fund has increased 19.1% so far this month.

$59.19 is needed to reach the next level.

Have fun, grow money and level up!

Leave a Reply

