Why I use YNAB to track our budget

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

It’s a magical money machine* that’s why!

*A poster on the old Dave Ramsey forums coined that term. I never forgot the way pknord worded that.

Today I realized we had come in under budget on fuel and get to power up with $18.23.

I this this is the longest I’ve gone without getting to deposit to the Money Game since I started. I have rounded up a whole shelf of items to sell but keep telling myself it will take more in gas to drive to meet up than what I’ll make. I’m trying to make sense of it and I know there is an answer.

What would you do with $3,700+ to make $185? If you have the answer to that question, you NEED to be playing this game for yourself! It’s getting challenging and it’s still fun.

Level Completed: 135 out of 251
Amount Deposited this month: $619.70
Total Balance: $3,767.20

Our Money Game fund has increased 19.7% so far this month.

$40.96 is needed to reach the next level.

Have fun, grow money and level

2 thoughts on “Why I use YNAB to track our budget

  1. I don’t drive to meet people for FB sales. Most of the items I sell are for $40 or less. I’m willing to take the loss if I get stiffed on it, so I schedule porch pick ups. Arrange the time via FB messenger and then send them the address an hour before the scheduled pick up. They pick up the item and leave cash under the mat. You don’t have to be home. You don’t have to go anywhere and most importantly if you are an introvert, you don’t have to speak to a stranger.

    I would suggest that you keep your eye out for Black Friday deals on small electronics such as Fit Bits and smart watches. Use your nest egg to buy super low and sit on the items for a couple of weeks and then post on FB, Amazon or Ebay. If you can get a $150 Fitbit for $100 and sell it for $125, everybody wins. Keep your receipts and you can return and get your cash back if it becomes more difficult to resell than expected.

    Like

Leave a Reply

