Turning budget categories into profit centers

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

What if you found you could get 50% off the products you use if bought them 4 times a year in order to meet the company’s minimum order? I’m thinking about doing this for the makeup and skin care products I use. I buy them anyway. They require a starter kit purchase that I’ll equate to Costco executive membership dues. The starter kit is a one time purchase – not an annual fee.

I put everything I regularly use into a spreadsheet. With $30 worth of gifts thrown in, it does meet their quarterly minimum.

If the Money Game bought it, I could “buy” the products at retail from that budget category as I run out. I’m also free to sell them to other people at retail. The person from whom I buy Mary Kay is super. She has never tried to sell me and that’s why I chose her when I needed to switch skin care products. She promises I won’t be pressured to sell and I believe her because that how she operates.

I’ve been busy trying to think of how to get $3,700 come up with $185. I have some yard sale things together on a shelf but I keep stalling on listing those things. Some will only get a few dollars and I wonder if I’ll pay more in gas running to meet someone than I’ll actually make.

I never saw myself as someone who could sell makeup but I keep saying this game is taking me places I never thought I’d go. As always, I’d love to hear your comments.

We have done so well shopping at Costco. We’re able to stay under budget now plus I get those crazy rebate checks twice a year. Part of me thinks this is more of the same. The other part of me can’t stop thinking of “I Love Lucy” in the episode called “The Business Manager”. We caught that the other night on TV and I was laughing so hard, I was crying.

Level Completed: 135 out of 251
Amount Deposited this month: $619.70
Total Balance: $3,767.20

Our Money Game fund has increased 19.7% so far this month.

$40.96 is needed to reach the next level.

Have fun, grow money and level up!

2 thoughts on “Turning budget categories into profit centers

  1. I’m not a make up person. My entire make up routine involves a tube of Burt’s Bees tinted lip gloss. That being said, I would do what you are doing if it was a significant area of expense.

    I had a $10 coupon for Jet.com that I used this weekend to buy alot of toothpaste. I use Earthpaste and typically pay $7 per tube. Jet.com had it for a little less than $6. I ordered 6 tubes and used my $10 off pushing the price down below $5 each.

    I try to buy items like that which aren’t going to expire in 12 month supplies. I can shop to push the price down as low as possible and then not have to worry about running out and having to pay full price for another year. It saves money, time and energy. I would guess I spend under $100 of my budget each month on items like this. If I had to buy a month’s worth of everything that we use around our home, it would easily run $150 – $200 each month.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kaycee it looks like you came up with the ultimate solution – just don’t use it! My biggest expense is skin care products. I’ve tried using a high quality hand made soap on my face and a moisturizer my chiropractor sells for a fraction of this cost but it was too drying.

      Our costs are about $250 retail every 3 months. I talked to the person I buy my makeup from and she said I don’t have to place a minimum order every quarter. It can just be once a year. That really changed it to be more favorable. I didn’t want to get in a position where I was trying to use more stuff than necessary because I had to do another order in three months.

      I asked my husband to look it all over just to make sure I’m not doing some crazy scheme and he agrees it’s like a Costco membership with just a one time fee to get started. I think I’m going to do it but I’m going to wait until I start running out of stuff.

      Like

Leave a Reply

