Saving money by staying healthy

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

Today was hectic as I volunteered most of the day at a magnet school in Chattanooga and then met George at our chiroprator’s office. While he adjusted us, he coached us on nutrition.

It occured to me that we haven’t had a cold or flu for several years. Honestly I can’t remember the last time either one of us has been sick. Dr. Knox got us off all my prescriptions except thyroid (I have an under active thyroid and don’t make enough on my own). We don’t take OTC meds. I don’t even think we have any in the house.

This is money in the bank. I’m not sharing to brag but before we started seeing Dr. Knox for nutrition and for chiropractic care, we got sick a lot. George was so sick with the flu one winter, he passed out at the doctor’s office and had to fight to keep from getting admitted to the hospital. They kept him at the office all day getting IV fluids before letting him go back home.

That’s when we realized the boughts of colds, sinus infections and bronchitus seemed to start around Halloween each year. We wondered if that’s because all the sugary treats get amped up continuing through the holiday season. The cold weather made me want to make hot chocolate and homemade bread and pies. We were both seriously overweight which probably didn’t help either. After George got over that case of the flu, we pledged to do better and rarely eat sweets.

If you’re reading this wondering if eating right could really make a difference, consider checking out these resources:

Sugar: The Bitter Truth

Whole 30

NomNomPaleo

You may think “yeah, yeah but I can’t afford to eat healthy food – it costs too much!” For us, our expenses were offset by the things we stopped buying – soda, junk and meds. Our chiropractor  charges a fraction of what a traditional doctor visit costs.  I don’t have to gets meds, labs and rechecks for UTIs any longer. The sinus infections are gone. The sick days are gone.

I had a bad fall once and my ankle was black from the severe bruising.  I knew it needed to be checked out.  I went to my chiropractor first.  It was the least invasive, least expensive place to start. I knew he would send me on to ER for xrays if necessary.  He adjusted it and gave me at home instructions to help heal it assuring me it wasn’t broken.  His visit cost me a $7 co pay.  My ankle was completely better in about a week.

As part of reporting our Money Game progress, I’m going to report if we got sick. I hope it encourages you to take a step towards eating more veggies and getting outside to play!

Level Completed: 135 out of 251
Amount Deposited this month: $656.91
Total Balance: $3,804.41

Our Money Game fund has increased 20.9% so far this month.

$3.75 is needed to reach the next level.

Have fun, grow money and level up!

3 thoughts on “Saving money by staying healthy

  1. It’s mind boggling how what we eat affects our health, no? I have fibro, so I pretty much feel like crap all the time.. but because I eat a very healthy, anti-inflammatory diet (vegan – occasionally vegetarian- and gluten free) I rarely catch actual sickness bugs. I went through a several year period in my life where I caught EVERYTHING- colds, infections, flu, pneumonia, etc… Now that my eating is under control, my immune system kicks major booty. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It is mind boggling. I didn’t even know it was possible to live without catching a couple of colds every winter season.

    I hate that you’re being so diligent and not able to feel better in general. That sucks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

