More thoughts on power ups

A part of me feels silly writing and posting about adding $1.72 to our Money Game fund.

Then I look at the total balance knowing I started with $5 just a few short months ago. It felt silly then too. I thought about just trying to do this in my IRA where I’d have more money to work with. I knew my hands would be tied with regulations about withdrawing, taxes, penalties and restrictions on what I could buy and invest in. I wanted to do this myself.

It’s been just over 3 months and most of the money found and made has been in dribbles. But today I have a pile of over $5,000 real live dollars that I could use for something serious around our home. It’s a LOT of money to me right now. It’s approaching the point that I’m keeping my ear to the ground. Someone I know is going to need a sell a great car that belongs to an aging parent or I’m going to find the right piece of land to sell. I’ll be ready right then with cash on hand to invest.

There are so many possibilities. For example, I’m starting to question owning the small Lexus convertible I drive. I found a great washer and dryer for sale but I didn’t have a way to pick it up. If I find the right car, I might get it for me, sell the Lexus and realize a huge gain in one go.

I think the most important thing I’m learning is to keep that goal of making 5% of your balance in my mind. It fills me with optimism and keeps me thinking of ways to make that money be productive. The task seems just as easy (and at times just as difficult) with $4,000 as it did with $5. Look at what you have and figure out a way to get 5% more as quickly as possible. Be legal. Be moral (you don’t really want to cheat your sister out of her ice cream money do you?) Have fun (taking on 2 or 3 jobs to level up when you have a day job and kids isn’t going to help anyone). You always have enough in your hand to come up with 5% more.

Don’t scoff at these small power ups. Take them, roll them in and keep thinking about to get more and more of them or how to make them bigger so you don’t have to do it as much. Either way works. Costco has done very well and they limit the percent markup on all of their merchandise to 15% or less. They just happen to sell a ton of merchandise.

Finally power ups mean that it will take less effort to actually level up. They give you a little boost that can make a big difference.

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

Level Completed: 142 out of 251
Amount Deposited this month: $548.16
Total Balance: $5,189.02
Our Money Game fund has increased 11.8% so far this month.

$169.44 is needed to reach the next level.

Leave a Reply

