Make your own (free) digital planner

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

In the corporate world, I bought Franklin Covey.

In my home world, I used to use Sue Cooley’s planner. Cooley’s planner fit my home world even better than the pricey (but super cute) planners from Erin Condren. I used Condren’s one year but it didn’t have enough space for my daily tasks and it was expensive.

I tried bullet journaling but you still have to buy a notebook. I love, love, love the idea of Bullet Journals but just don’t take the time to write up the months, commit to the indexing, etc. I found it difficult to find special pages I set up for projects and those were the things I needed to be able to find the most.

Now I use Evernote and even get wonderful little checkboxes to tick off with each completed task. Evernote has full search capabilities so I don’t have to wonder where I stuck my address list or my perpetual birthday calendar. I just search and it pops up.

Today, I learned that Evernote even has calendar templates you can use. I hope to get time later to play with those. If you’re curious, just do a search. There are so many ways to go about it and you can play around until you find the solution you like the best.

I approached it by making what I call a “daily template” note. It has the basic things I want to do every day. I need reminders and checkboxes as I’m adult ADD. I found that building routines and systems in my life with reminders (for example, I never turn on the stove or oven without setting an audio timer using Amazon Echo) kept me from having to take meds.

I have a notebook for the current year and every day, I copy the daily template page and paste it into a new note named for the day’s date. If there are any special things I need to do that day, it’s easy to add them to the list. Today I have to pick up some dietary supplements for George. It’s not a recurring daily task so I just tacked it on the end.

I also have an address book for people I send cards and letters to by snail mail. Finally, my planner has a list of birthdays that I check frequently. I always know when a birthday is coming up and can plan accordingly.

Your planner can have all the project pages you want along with lists of your goals, mission & vision statements, monthly progress reports, etc.

I think that’s what I love the most about an Evernote planner (other than the fact that it’s free). It can instantly expand to whatever you need.  Decide to start exercising? Add “exercise” or “run 3 miles” to your daily template. Find a need to start journaling what you eat along with everything else? It instantly expands without having to buy an expansion pack!

This is what I’m doing now but I’d love to hear if there are any better ideas out there.

Level Completed: 144 out of 251
Amount Deposited this month: $64.55
Total Balance: $5,825.31
Our Money Game fund has increased 1.1% so far this month.

$82.39 is needed to reach the next level.

2 thoughts on “Make your own (free) digital planner

  1. You’ve sold me on Evernote! I’ve been looking for a catch all planner – I want to get in the habit of tracking my eating and drinking habits again, while also having a money planner and goal section (long term and short term), and my daily/monthly to dos.

    I’ve always been a paper girl (I just really love to jot things down with a pen), but paper planners are cumbersome and when I’m having an FMS flareup, I need to carry as little weight as possible. I’m excited to give Evernote a try! Thanks for the tip about searching for templates!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

