Powering up while doing life


(Image courtesy of Uses of Herbs)

A friend from our small group at church had some major surgery and I dropped by the hospital. George said I’d probably need some cash for parking and he found $4 in his wallet. The actual cost was $1 and I don’t have to tell you where the other $3 went.

I had to run by the bank to make a deposit anyway so I added the extra $3.

By the way, I keep terra cotta pots, ribbon and wire with our gift wrap supplies. I started growing thyme, oregano, rosemary and sage years ago. It’s easy to fill a small pot with potting soil, add some herb cuttings, pop on a bow and have a very nice instant gift to brighten someone’s day.

Taking flowers or a plant to someone in the hospital used to be a huge budget buster but not any more. If you don’t have a garden with ready plants, you can pick up live growing herbs at the grocery store. It’s still a lot less than having flowers or a plant sent from the florist. Personally, I’d rather have a friend bring me something like this than to have an impersonal delivery.

I write posts like these because gifts were such a huge drain on our budget until a friend taught me that frugal gifts can be even nicer. Also, some people have asked if we actually deposit the money we save. In this case, I didn’t. We were getting ready to leave for a long vacation weekend at the beach and I honestly didn’t have the extra money in our budget to send flowers. But when I saw the extra $3 in the console of my car, I knew I should just add it to the bank deposit I was making anyway. It would have been frittered away and these small deposits really add up over time.

Level Completed: 162 out of 251
Amount Deposited this month: $479.99
Total Balance: $13,889.70
Our Money Game fund has increased 3.6% so far this month.

$327.88 is needed to reach the next level

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

 

Leave a Reply

