My secret weapon – Costco rotisserie chickens

Costco has these down to a science. The chickens are juicy, cooked to perfection and seasoned well. I’ve been told the chickens themselves are antibiotic free and hormone free.* They have a great flavor and texture.

It’s just George and me so one chicken does 3 meals + bone broth. Here’s how I pull it off:

Meal 1 – While the chicken is still warm, I cut it in half and remove one breast. The wings come off (we both get one as an appetizer). I slice the breast and serve it with Paleo gravy and steamed veggies.

Meal 2 – the other breast gets cut into strips to go into a coconut curry (easy peasy – just stir fry some onions and broccoli (or any veggies you like), toss in the meat, a can of coconut milk and some curry paste)

Meal 3 – pick the dark meat off the thighs and drumsticks, shred it by hand or in your KA top with Paleo BBQ sauce

Bone broth is easy in our Instant Pot. If I don’t have a soup planned, we often just heat it and enjoy it either as broth or poured over fresh chopped veg and topped with sliced green onion. It adds a ton of flavor to our cooking too. When I make the broth, I use the carcass and also the drippings that are in the bottom of the container the chicken comes in.

I like to pull all the meat off the carcass while the chicken is still warm from the store. It’s just easier that way. Separate it into ziplock bags or your container of choice and promptly refrigerate. If I don’t have any other plans, I’ll make a chicken and vegetable soup and then freeze for emergency meals later. It may not sound glamerous, but when you come home late, they are a goldmine in the freezer. Just be sure to label and date the containers before sticking them in the freezer.

These chickens have been priced at $4.99 the entire time we’ve been Costco members (about 3 years). If you use at least one of these chickens a week, the savings over the price at a regular grocery store will pay for your Costco membership.

Other ways I use them:

  • fresh homemade chicken salad
  • any type of homemade chicken soup
  • chicken chili
  • chicken croquettes
  • chicken fajitas (slice the breasts, cut into strips, toss in seasoning and throw in a skillet after quickly cooking sliced onions and peppers)
  • chicken cacciatore
  • toss in a white cream sauce and serve over lightly steamed peas and carrots
  • jambalaya
  • shred and bake in a cornmeal dressing (this is a fall family favorite thanks to our beautiful daughter in law)
  • baked chicken casseroles
  • chicken enchilada casserole
  • chicken tacos

Doing the math – 1 chicken serves 2 adults 3 meals and we use 1 each week. I don’t know of any other protein source that can stretch to that many meals for $5.

With a  little  planning, these chickens can help you come in under your grocery budget! Remember – don’t just “save” money. Grab those savings and physically move them to your Money Game fund!

Today’s  post comes with a teensy power up of $4.14 leftover after paying the cable/internet bill.

Level Completed: 162 out of 251
Amount Deposited this month: $484.13
Total Balance: $13,893.84
Our Money Game fund has increased 3.6% so far this month.

$323.74 is needed to reach the next level

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

*Updated: A sharp reader pointed out that most likely these chickens are not free range. She also suspected they are given anti-biotics.

I emailed Costco and asked them. She was right. Here is Costco’s response received July 29, 2017:

Hello Mary,

My name is Floriscel G and I’m with the Costco Member Services Team.

Thank you for writing in Mary. Currently our chickens are given antibiotics in accordance with the USDA guidelines and are not free range. We do not use added hormones or steroids. Hormones are naturally occurring.

If you may have any further questions, please feel free to respond to this email. I hope you have a nice day.

Sincerely,

Floriscel G
Member Service Center
Costco Wholesale Corporation

I appreciate that they got back to me over the weekend and I appreciate knowing the facts (something I should have checked out before writing the old blog post above).

Reuters: Costco working to end use of human antibiotics in chicken (published in 2015)

3 thoughts on “My secret weapon – Costco rotisserie chickens

  1. There is nothing in media since 2015 when Costco were “thinking” or “phasing out” with no deadline. If they could say the rotisserie chicken was. Antibiotic free, it would be available info. I also asked and was told yes. Then when I pursued, she said she assumed it was or she would have been told. She offered to call manager and get back. I would not believe it, if not in media somewhere.

    Like

  2. Thank you for your comment. This is a huge big deal to me. My chiropractor was actually the person who told me they are okay (and he’s the one who got me off all but one prescription by eating right). He’s the one who said I have to free range chicken grown with hormones, antibiotics, etc.

    I’m going to do some checking and report back. I agree with you that if the information can’t be verified that we have to assume it’s not the quality meat we thought it was. Thanks again for taking your time to point it out.

    Like

  3. I thought I’d add that I emailed Costco just now. I’ll update as soon as I get a reply. Thanks again – that was helpful and something I should have verified before just putting it out there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

