Living richly

counter fern
(photo by George)

Today, it meant finishing the job. I had washed the dishes and tidied up the kitchen and frankly I was done. I just wanted to check out.

I glanced down and the counter on the island was dirty. George was on his way home and I wanted things to look nice for him. I got out some spray and wiped them down.

It was a simple chore and didn’t take an extra two minutes. It just struck me how that extra step made the kitchen sparkle and yea, he noticed and commented when he came in.

It also struck me that sparkling felt rich. And it didn’t cost any extra money. I had to let it sink in that what feels rich isn’t always what one might think. When I was an older kid, I remember how luxurious my bedroom felt if all my clothes were picked up and the bed was made. We were dirt poor by the way.

It’s funny that simple act made me feel “richer” than the MG balance. It was a change you could feel. I need to remember that. It really drives home the fact that money is just an idea. If you sat in one corner with your pile and I sat in my corner with my pile, we’d just be two people in opposite corners holding piles. It’s what we do with what we have that makes a difference.

I’m still doing end of the month power ups. I haven’t needed much and have over $60 left in my personal spending category. I moved it to the Money Game. The percent growth for the month is now over 5% and that makes me really happy. The utility bill should give us a power up and I have a few more up my sleeve. The month isn’t over yet.

Today’s deposit: $62.52

Level Completed: 162 out of 251
Amount Deposited this month: $721.81
Total Balance: $14,131.52
Our Money Game fund has increased 5.4% so far this month.

$86.06 is needed to reach the next level

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

Leave a Reply

