May Wrap Up

May, 2017 is in the books! It wasn’t a bad month and we crossed the $14,000 line growing the fund almost 7% this month.

Monthly Deposits Beginning Gain Ending % Growth
         
July, 2016 0 $509.86 $509.86 N/A
August, 2016 $509.86 $1,214.77 $1,724.63 238.26%
September, 2016 $1,724.63 $1,422.87 $3,147.50 82.50%
October, 2016 $3,147.50 $1,493.36 $4,640.86 47.45%
November, 2016 $4,640.86 $1,119.90 $5,760.76 24.13%
December, 2016 $5,760.76 $1,502.69 $7,263.45 26.08%
January, 2017 $7,263.45 $473.73 $7,737.18 6.52%
February, 2017 $7,737.18 $979.77 $8,716.95 12.66%
March, 2017 $8,716.95 $3,795.91 $12,512.86 43.55%
April, 2017 $12,512.86 $896.85 $13,409.71 7.17%
May, 2017 $13,409.71 $937.35 $14,347.06 6.99%

You may remember that I also started keeping track of any sick days since we stopped eating sugar and processed foods. Neither one of us has had a cold or flu (or any other illness thankfully) since I started blogging. Actually we haven’t been sick in years but I never kept any former records so I can’t say for sure how long that’s been.

Why do I take time to write about this? I was constantly sick before I started eating right and I spent a ton of money on prescriptions, lab tests, etc. It was free and easy enough to stop buying and eating junk food. I wish I had known this years ago. If you have frequent colds and/or aches and pains in your joints, this is something worth trying. It doesn’t cost money and it doesn’t hurt to try.

Even though George has health insurance for us through his employer, we are now cash patients when we go to the chiropractor or have an annual physical. We’ve been cash patients for about 10 years. We barely make a dent in our deductible and it makes sense to pay less. Our doctor’s have assured us that if we hit a year where we meet the deductible, they’ll be happy to submit our claims for us. This has saved us some money on our every six week chiropractor visits.

I know we are experiencing some huge blessings from this and that could literally change overnight due to an accident, developing cancer, etc. Please don’t take what I’m writing as bragging or as any type of guarantee. At the same time, if you do some internet searches, you’ll find tons of people are reversing diabetes and getting well by changing their diets. Again, I share this simply because I wish someone had told me. When I had constant sinus and urinary tract infections, my former M.D. didn’t tell me. I honestly don’t think he knew. I’ve switched doctors since then and am thankful for a GP who recognizes and supports my choices.

If you are reading this and you’re wondering where to start, consider watching Sugar: The Bitter Truth by Dr. Lustig on YouTube. Part of wealth is health right? This video has had over 7 million views. It’s a bit long. I watched it 15 minutes at a time but it’s worth it. I knew I wasn’t supposed to eat sweets but I didn’t understand why until I watched Dr. Lustig’s lecture.  His lecture also showed me why I was constantly hungry (sugar interfere’s with your body’s ability to feel satiated). It was amazing to feel the fog and constant hunger lift after kicking sugar to the curb.

Dr. Lustig is an M.D. and head of the Pediatric Obesity clinic at the University of California in San Francisco. His credentials are solid and his advice has worked well for us here in the Pinnacle Point household.

Sugar: The Bitter Truth (a lecture by Dr. Lustig)

3 thoughts on “May Wrap Up

  1. Well, here’s my May wrapup: I’m on Level 96, with $24.32 to go to Level 97. I had 14.02% growth this month. Interest & cashback were still my primary sources, but a night of babysitting for a friend gave it a good bump mid month. For June, I expect to be able to reach Level 100 at least, as I just started my new job and will be able to put 5% of my income increase each month to the Money Game.

    I thought it rather encouraging that you are seeing long term improvements in health after removing sugar and processed foods from your diet. This is something I am trying to do now and am struggling a bit with the transition. I know that both my budget and my health will be better in the long run, but it’s a big switch 🙂 I can’t remember, but are you doing more of a whole foods approach (where you include grains), or more low carb?

    Like

  2. I love that you’re tracking your progress. Thanks for sharing … this is a fun thing to do with others.

    I had to eliminate grains. If I even eat brown rice, my hands ache. I start getting sick again when I try to reintroduce them. Honestly I’m more on the AIP (auto immune protocol) than even the Whole 30. The paradox is I just never get sick now. I’ve watched my grandchildren when they were sick with throw ups, etc. and I don’t get sick. It was totally the opposite when I was eating junky food.

    I think the thing that helped me the most was having plenty of food that I loved while I transitioned. Consider buying some really good fruit for example. The fiber in the fruit is nature’s antidote to the fructose (I got that from Dr. Lustig’s video). I work better within a model of abundance than deprivation. Organic cherries always seemed like a special treat to me. They were my literal candy a few times. Thinking back – I couldn’t eat tropical fruits when I was transitioning but orchard fruit was fine (grapes, apples, berries, cherries, pears, etc.)

    An icy unsweetened almond milk smoothie – sometimes with a banana blended in and/or organic peanut butter and/or unsweetened cocoa powder (I added stevia if it needed it) is another good sugar substitute. I found if I pour mine into a pre-chilled RTIC or Yeti tumbler that it stays cold and I can enjoy it longer.

    As focused as you are on growing your MG fund, would diverting money spent on junk food help motivate you too?

    Like

    1. Hmm…I actually don’t budget anything to snacks on a monthly basis so that I have to find that money somewhere else first, but I could probably find a way to make that work….

      I could set aside some money each month, and every day that I follow my diet a portion goes into the Money Game, and if I don’t it gets added to the extra I send to my student loans.

      My budget for June is already set (I’m buffered in YNAB, so I won’t see the pay increase hit my budget until I budget for next month) but I’ll start playing with numbers and see what amount will work. I may start it this month, we’ll see.

      I’m also thinking no grain (at least for a while) is what I need right now, but I need to step up my meal planning skills to make sure I have options for low energy or time days too. Once my freezer is more stocked with leftovers for work, lunches will be easier (maybe I’ll be able to get rid of the canned soup I keep at work 🙂 )

      Like

Leave a Reply

