Levels 167: It’s been a year!

I love numbers. A year ago I played with a spreadsheet wondering what would happen if someone grew $5 5% at a time. It was fun to play around with. At each level, I could picture myself doing something with that sum to make more. I decided to go for it.  Each time it grew 5%, it felt like leveling up in a video game. I was off to the races.

I wrote here many times that it took on a life of its own. I thought I would spend my time trying to buy something undervalued to turn around and sell. Instead, I started finding money leftover at the end of each pay period in different budget categories. I became a better shopper and a better kitchen manager. I had no idea we were leaving so much on the (literal) table.

Now I’m sitting here a bit stunned and very proud of what we accomplished. I’m proud that we never got tempted to buy a new car or spend this money in other ways. I definitely want to keep growing it and use it as another way to earn money in retirement. The most logical way seems like buying real estate to either rent or resell. I don’t know yet. George has found undervalued properties several times before in great locations and it just seems like a good fit for us. At the same time, $17,500 + isn’t much in the world of real estate.

I have no idea what this second year will bring but I know I’ll be along for the ride.

My second social security check hit my bank account today and it’s fitting to add a final deposit of $800 (after giving away a portion and setting aside a chunk for taxes). I’ve been researching how to pay the quarterly taxes and learned that it won’t be as much as I initially thought. I also have an expense check to add bringing today’s deposit to $1045.79.

My mom used to say that money doesn’t mean anything if you lose your health. This marks a full year that we haven’t even had a cold. We’ll keep saving but we’ll also keep growing our veggies and eating a Paleo diet most of the time. The first time I went to a chiropractor, Dr. Sally Knox asked me if I had ever had headaches. I said “Just a couple of times a week – you know just normal.” She quietly said it wasn’t normal to have a headache and that she hadn’t had a Tylenol in over 10 years. She wasn’t bragging; it was just a quiet assertion. I never heard that until then.

I was on antibiotics for an entire year when my nutrition journey started so it isn’t like I never got sick anyway. I was sick all the time. I want to add our voices to the growing chorus “getting sick isn’t normal”. If you gets colds or the flu, I hope this inspires you. Staying healthy not only puts more money in your pocket – it gives you the strength and energy to enjoy it!

Level Completed: 167 out of 251
Amount Deposited this month: $1,061.88
Total Balance: $17,579.37
Our Money Game fund has increased 6.4% so far this month.

$566.27 is needed to reach the next level

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

Leave a Reply

