Retirement count down clock

I don’t care for these articles.
Clark Howard – Retirement count down clock

To me, they all say the same thing. Stop going to Starbucks and save $4 or $5 a day.

What chaps me is I don’t see a specific plan of what to do with that money. We had an extended family member who was great at finding sales. She had so much stuff! Her home was so crammed full of stuff she bought that I think she liked to shop so she oould be in a place that looked nice. She died in poverty with no assets but significant credit card debt. She had to depend on her kids to care for her in her old age. They didn’t mind; they loved her. But is that how you want to spend your retirement?

If you’re a regular reader here, you know of a plan! And I did actually make a thermos of coffee, drive several hours out of town, come home and pay an extra $5 off our mortgage. Our home has been paid off for a while now. If I did it today, I’d put it in the Money Game.

One thing I did that I found helpful was calculate how many paychecks we had until retirement. That put the fear of God into me! Let’s say you are 45 and you’d like to retire at the age of 60. To keep the math easy, let’s say you are paid monthly. That means you have 15 years left which is 180 paychecks. Doing that helped me see that income from wages wasn’t going to be endless. It helped me see stopping a 401K contribution wasn’t an option. It also made me want to do more.

Our fuel costs have been insanely low since I sold my car. We have $29.70 left over for today’s power up. We’re slowly starting to feel the inconvenience. I need to start crunching numbers to see if renting one once a month makes more sense than buying one.

Level Completed: 167 out of 251
Amount Deposited this month: $1,171.58
Total Balance: $17,689.07
Our Money Game fund has increased 7.1% so far this month.

$456.57 is needed to reach the next level

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

2 thoughts on “Retirement count down clock

  1. Honestly, it’s been a challenge here and we’re empty nesters. There are just days that I really need to help by running errands. My husband’s job requires him to drive to different manufacturing facilities during the day. I don’t think I could do it with kids.

    Like

Leave a Reply

