The two things that have to happen to sustain the Money Game

I wrote this post about 10 months ago. I didn’t think it was that great but I decided to publish it today. I’d love to know if any of you have ideas on what you could do with some money to make more money. I found one idea and I’ll post it tomorrow. It’s funny cause I kept pushing this post back and feeling like I was failing. Instead, I kept making small deposits over and over again and a year later had over $17,000. Even though my points below were valid, I still ended with a lot more money than I expected just doing what I knew to do.

  1. Bring it in
  2. Make it bring you more

From what I’ve seen so far it happens in phases:

Phase I – Get that first $5  Go mow your mom’s yard if you have to but get that $5.

Phase II – Ask yourself how you can use $5 to get twenty five cents.  If you can’t think of anything, then do what you did to get the first $5.  Roll it in and do it again.

Phase II will work about 100 times for most people.  If I was a teen, I’d babysit at night after the kids are in bed.  That’s as close to passive income as you may get right now. Just sit there, do your homework and get paid. 

Phase III – Learn how to sell. Sell stuff you don’t need any more.  If you don’t have anything, learn how to make homemade cookies.  Find drinks at a low price and sell them at work for less than the vending machines ask.  Keep your ear to the ground.  What do people want?  See if you can find it at a great deal and sell it for a profit. Make a profit.  Bring it in.  Keep it in.  Make more and level up.

It won’t take long for you to get to Level 125 – by then you’ll be halfway through the levels and you’ll have $2500 to work with.  Can you think of something you could buy at a great price with that much money and sell to make $125?  I think we all could come up with something.  Do you have to buy something expensive and sell it for $125 more?  Of course not!  Fast food places sell lots of inexpensive food and they seem to do just fine.

Today is a new week and I’m working on Level 125. I need to figure out how to make at least $106.03 to level up. It’s getting more challenging. I’m going to go about my day knocking out the housework and some yard work that need to get done. My mind will be going a mile a minute thinking about what I can sell. For most things in my life, if I do what I know to do with what I have, more opportunities seem to surface. I’m not stressing about it. It’s a game and it makes the day fun to think about my next move.

******************************
That was the old post. It didn’t happen the way I envisioned but it did happen. With that, I have $1.75 leftover in personal spending that I won’t need since it’s the end of the month. I’d rather see it get fat in the Money Game!

Today’s Deposit: $1.75
Level Completed: 167 out of 251
Amount Deposited this month: $1,344.91
Total Balance: $17,862.40
Our Money Game fund has increased 8.1% so far this month.

$283.24 is needed to reach the next level

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

Leave a Reply

