Look for a different solution

I’m making a pair of leggings. It’s really fun, they’re cute, they fit right and it costs me $4 a pair. (Ask in the comments if you want a link to the free pattern. Otherwise I’ll spare you.)

Most if it was done on my serger but then I needed to hem them on my sewing machine. Each machine uses a different type of thread. The Peg Legs I’m making are navy and I didn’t have any navy thread for my sewing machine.

I went to my favorite sewing website and started an order. A spool of thread is only a couple of dollars so I figured I needed to buy more things to justify the shipping. We all know where this is going right?

This what George and I always do when we hit something like this. We stop and tell ourselves that we’re reasonably intelligent people who can probably find at least one other solution. One that came to me right away was just to hem by hand using serger thread.

Then I wondered if I could blind hem using my serger. Two clicks and a You Tube later I was watching a video showing me exactly how to do this. I played with samples all morning until I mastered the technique. It’s my favorite hem now and it’s way better than the way I used to do it.

Everything around us – our devices, our road signs, our TVs, what we listen to in our cars tells us we need to spend money to be happier, look better, feel better and be more productive. Sometimes a purchase makes a difference. I’m challenging you to think it through first and see if you have any solutions on hand. You may end up with something better!

I was ready to plunk down at least $30. I promise you’ll be wealthier if you live this way. Cause you know what to do with money you save right?

Right!

Today’s deposit is $137.06 coming under budget on utilities. Powering up cause I didn’t make a stinking order for more sewing supplies!!

Today’s Deposit: $137.06
Level Completed: 167 out of 251
Amount Deposited this month: $1,481.97
Total Balance: $17,999.46
Our Money Game fund has increased 9% so far this month.

$146.18 is needed to reach the next level

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

Leave a Reply

