Looking ahead

This was another post I wrote right after Black Friday last year. The Instant Pots didn’t sell. I got several people who contacted with offers in the $40 range. I decided to use them as gifts instead and made several people very happy indeed.

In spite of my selling efforts not working out so well, I now know that the Money Game still worked out well for us and that more money came to us in different and unexpected ways. Remember, if you get something at a lower cost because of diligent shopping, you don’t pay tax on the money you saved!

And now enjoy this old post that I never published:

The overall conception of the Money Game is that money will grow 5% at a time, picking up speed and amount over time.

I’m not sure what “time” division truly apply in this model. But if I want this to happen during my lifetime, I think monthly units are a great goal. Writing this makes me realize that I need to find a way to publish a graph of our fund’s growth over time as that picture will convey what’s happening better than anything else I know.

In that spirit, I realized last month’s deposits were less than the previous month’s. I saw it coming and knew sales has to happen NOW! On Black Friday, I bought three Instant Pots and posted the first one for sale yesterday on Facebook.  No nibbles yet. That’s okay. I’ll keep posting trying again perhaps closer to Christmas.  I thought about gift wrapping it too but I want the buyer to open it (they are new in box), verify good condition and plug it in so I can sell it with no returns (they’ll have their own guarantee from the manufacturer right?)

***********************

Today I’m happy to report a power up of $2.50 left over in the category for AT&T our cell phone provider. Additionally, we used two coupons at the grocery store today. $2 off Tide and fifty cents off a bag of organic carrots.

Today’s Deposit: $5
Level Completed: 167 out of 251
Amount Deposited this month: $1,555.97
Total Balance: $18,073.46
Our Money Game fund has increased 9.4% so far this month.

$72.18 is needed to reach the next level

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

Leave a Reply

