Level 169: Inching towards $20k

First, let’s talk about Christmas. I learned last year that I could give people nicer gifts and save more money if I would take the time to plan and to actually shop.

If you wait till the last minute, you’ll spend a lot more.

Do you have a budget? If not, it’s time!!

I have a spreadsheet with the people we buy for. I’m going to start looking for some really good deals so I know exactly what each person’s budget is (we spend x on siblings and xx on our kids). If I find something great and come in under, I can power up. (I did this last year and got to power up several times!)

An example from my sister’s birthday – I got my brother-in-law to send me some of my sister’s favorite photos and had them printed as a cover of a notebook. It cost me about $20 shipped and I normally budget $35 for her birthday gift. She commented more on that gift than anything else I ever gave her. I also got to deposit $15 in our Money Game. Now that’s what I’m talking about!

(Thankfully, I’m 97% sure she doesn’t know about this blog.)

We leveled up today with my SSA check. Evry time it happens, I feel surprised, happy and humbled. This is the second time this month we’ve leveled up.

Today’s Deposit: $825
Level Completed: 169 out of 251
Amount Deposited this month: $1108.52
Total Balance: $19,183.98
Our Money Game fund has increased 6.1% so far this month.

$ 821.59 is needed to reach the next level

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

Leave a Reply

