Coming in under budget

New? Start here …

Google Doc spreadsheet showing all 250 levels of the Money Game

I struggled the first month feeling as though I was cheating on the game. After all, I didn’t use the first $5 to MAKE money. I mainly made sure we came in under budget on groceries so every other windfall wouldn’t have to make up the difference.

I thought a lot about it and now, I’m convinced this is a great strategy for playing the game. It can’t be the only strategy but it’s still important as a first skill in the game. The goal of the game is to learn to make money make money. That will be hard to do if we spend it all as fast as it comes in.

Don’t get me wrong – I want (and intend) to spend a lot of it. That comes later (and hopefully not too far down the road later).

The results of the first month shows how much money I really was wasting. Remember when we started playing the game, my first rule was I couldn’t cut the budget. Coming in under budget or having money leftover at the end of the month is one thing. Making everyone eat gruel three meals a day is another.

Level Completed: 100 out of 251
Total Balance: $671.09

Our Money Game fund has increased 31.62% so far this month.

Have fun, grow money and level up!

Leave a comment